About Unjani NPC

About UNJANI CLINICS NPC

Unjani Clinics NPC

Unjani Clinics NPC is a non-profit company (Reg #2014/089277/08) and registered public benefit organization (PBO #930047735) established to implement and manage the Unjani Clinic Network.

Ownership None. Significant assets None – not for profit motive, with cost recoveries.

MISSION STATEMENT

To empower black women, build a sustainable network of nurse owned and operated primary healthcare clinics nationally and create permanent jobs.

BUSINESS CONCEPT

Unjani Clinic is an Enterprise Development initiative aimed at:

  • Empowering Black Women Professional Nurses;
  • Creating Permanent Jobs; and
  • Perfecting a Sustainable Clinic Model for providing primary healthcare.

Originally pioneered by Imperial, the concept was developed out of the need for the urgent transformation in the healthcare system in South Africa; the fact that our country faces the triple affliction of HIV, AIDS & TB; the fact that 84% of our population are dependent on an overburdened Public Sector system; and a costly curative-care based model vs. disease prevention and promotion.

The initiative is delivered through a Non-Profit Company registered as Unjani Clinics NPC, who acts as the support structure in the relationship. The legal structure is based on a Non-Profit Company, without members.

This NPC structure was put in place in order to provide maximum funding benefit to the beneficiaries of Unjani Clinic NPC, the professional nurses that join the network as well as the funders or donors to the NPC (who will receive the necessary legal and tax exemption certificates). All of the clinics are Exempted Micro Enterprises – 100% black women owned and their turnover levels are below R10m annually, thus, the relevant BBBEE Affidavits will be provided to all funders to ensure that they meet the DTI Scorecard requirements.

There are currently 111 clinics in the Unjani Clinic Network

Founded on an owner-operator model, our clinics serve the “bottom of the pyramid” and under-served markets; ensuring an affordable, quality primary healthcare service and the supply of quality medicines to the people of South Africa. The clinics are based in the communities of our Country ensuring that the service is delivered at the point of need.

GOALS & OBJECTIVES

Our Vision for the Network is to:

  • To build a SUCCESSFUL NETWORK of nurse owned and operated clinics
  • To set the benchmark for delivering QUALITY AND AFFORDABLE healthcare services to the people of South Africa
  • To serve the network with the same PASSIONATE COMMITMENT that they provide to their patients
  • To provide business mentoring and coaching for SUSTAINABLE ENTERPRISES

MAJOR ACHIEVEMENTS

Over the past few years, Unjani Clinics NPC has received a number of industry accolades:

  • Trialogue Strategic CSI Award (2021) in conjunction with Imperial Logistics,
  • Top 10 in Ask Afrika Da Vinci Awards (2018),
  • Jobs Fund Social Impact Award (2018),
  • Johnson & Johnson won Gold in the American Chamber of Commerce Stars of Africa Awards 2017 for the Unjani Clinics Project,
  • The Institute of Risk Management SA Award for Healthcare (2017),
  • Mail & Guardian Leaders of the Future Business Award (Runner Up 2017),
  • Mail & Guardian Investing in the Future Health Award (2015), and
  • Mail & Guardian Drivers of Change Business Award (2013).

It is immensely gratifying to have our efforts acknowledged by these well-known industry organisations and to realise the value in the Unjani Clinics initiative from an external point of view.

Unjani Clinics NPC's Current Team

Lynda Toussaint
CEO
ltoussaint@unjani.org

Sue Hoosain
Network General Manager
shoosain@unjani.org

Darryl Langford
Business Development Manager
darryl.langford@unjani.org

FINANCE

Scott Moore
Finance Manager
012 534 4341
smoore@unjani.org

Sharlene Harisunker
Accountant
012 534 4341
sharisunker@unjani.org

Freddah Mokgethle
Finance Administrator – Network
012 534 4341
fmabona@unjani.org

Penelope Phiri
Repayment Administrator
012 534 4341
pphiri@unjani.org

Kgothatso Selemale
Finance Learner
012 534 4341
kselemale@unjani.org

OPERATIONS

Zandile Mlambo
Orders Administrator
012 534 4341
zmlambo@unjani.org

Sifundo Sonti
Field Support Officer
073 717 3886
ssonti@unjani.org

Tebogo Malope
Field Support Officer
065 932 9387
tebogo.malope@unjani.org

Blessing Mashiloane
Field Support Officer
060 681 1502
bmashiloane@unajni.org

Hunadi Radebe
Network Support Administrator
hunadi.radebe@unjani.org

Eric Masehla
Office Assistant
012 534 4341

Adivhaho Madzinge
Learner
012 534 4341
amadzinge@unjani.org

Unjani Clinics NPC's Board

Dr HENDRIK HANEKOM
Director

LYNDA TOUSSAINT
CEO, Director

DAVID PRITCHARD
Director

Dr ESHA MANSINGH
Director

BERENICE LAWRENCE
Director